A Country Obsessed

Day 25: It is everywhere. I search in vain for an escape, with none to be found. It blares at the gym. It seeps under the apartment door. I hear it at work, on the bus… …I even see it in the eyes of my little students.

Day 26: The end is near. I sit on my bed, holding a jar of rubber cement. It will only take a few moments, I tell myself. Pour it in your ears and be done with it already. If only I wasn’t such a coward.

Day 27: I give in. I cave. A man can only take so much. They have gotten to me. I have sold out. Now, I, too, like all other denizens of this forsaken land, am obsessed. And like them, I shall not rest until all other human beings are likewise entranced by the greatest pop cultural blip since top hats.

___________________________________________________________

Frozen was released in South Korea on January 16th. Today is February 11th, and it’s already the highest-grossing animated film in the history of a country that knows quite a bit about animated films.

Today I’ve heard the song “Let It Go” already thirteen times, and it’s not even 3pm. I can actually hear it playing in the room next door – the school’s principal asked us English teachers at lunch to teach the song to our sixth grade students… as if they all haven’t already memorized the blasted song.

How obsessed is Korea? Well, let’s just say we love it.

We love it in music practice rooms:

We love it from female pop stars:

We love it from male pop stars:

We love it with bilingual subtitles:

We love it on reality TV:

We love it with Kyopos:

We love it from Ailee (my fav Korean singer), even though this is easily her worst performance ever:

We love it in a mashup with two Korean songs and the Beatles’ “Let It Be”:

And (my favorite) we love it with one guy and his guitar:

Oh, I’m sorry, is that too much for you? Well, then, why don’t you turn away and close the door? I don’t care what you’re going to say. Let the storm rage on. LET IT GOOOOO*

………….

…………………….

……..

……………….

*someone put me out of my misery

Leave a comment